Royal Lytham & St Annes



On Monday 22nd February, the UK Government announced a roadmap which will see Covid-19 restrictions be eased over a period of time.

Regrettably, whilst this roadmap hopefully sees the return of golf from Monday 29th March, other key amenities required for staging the Lytham Trophy will not have returned.

Having assessed all options available, the requirement for amenities such as hotels and restaurants to be open is substantial and consequently the Tournament Committee feel that there is no option but to cancel the 56th staging of the Lytham Trophy due to the limitations imposed on such areas.

We would like to thank you for supporting this year’s event. As a Club we are committed to delivering the Lytham Trophy in 2022 and hope that we will once again see an international field take to our famed links.


All those who have entered the Lytham Trophy online using PayPal will have the amount refunded onto the payment card which was originally used. We anticipate refunds will be carried out in the next 14 working days.

For those entrants who submitted entries manually, by post or email, you have not been charged and your entry form and any cheques will be destroyed immediately.

Kind regards,

Mark Duncalf

Assistant Secretary



In the 1960's members of the Club felt that there was a gap in the amateur golf calendar. Tournaments were not as common as they are now and these were often held in the south of England and it was thought that a 72 hole strokeplay event in the North West was needed. The National Unions and leading players were approached for support and the first event in 1965 produced a tie between Clive Clark and M.F.Bonallack.

The Lytham Trophy is held each year at the beginning of May. One round being played on the Friday and Saturday and the final two rounds, for those that have made the cut, on the Sunday. Being the first major event in the amateur golf calendar each year it attracts attention from all the national selectors.

Every winner takes away a replica of the handsome "Sputnick" Trophy which was donated by members subscriptions. All winners have been international golfers of the highest quality and many have gone on to be successful professionals.

In 1999 the Lytham Trophy was won for the first time by a player from Continental Europe – Tino Schuster from Germany.

In 2010 for the third time we had an Irish International as the winner – Paul Cutler from Portstewart.

In 2011 the winner was much more local - Jack Senior from Heysham Golf Club.

2012 winner - Dan Huizing (Netherlands)

2013 winner - Albert Eckhart (Finland)

2014 winner - Thriston Lawrence (South Africa)

2015 winner - Marcus Kinhult (Sweden)

2016 winner - Alfie Plant (England)

2017 winner - Jack Singh Brar (England)

2018 winner - Matthew Jordan (England)

2019 winner - Joshua McMahon (England)

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.